Shift+Delete: Delete file without sending it to Trashcan

I mentioned this one back in this Explorer shortcut post, but it deserves being spelled out on its own: When you see a file in a directory folder (such as when opening or saving a file, or when using the Windows Explorer), you can delete a file normally by using the Delete key. It then goes to the Trashcan, where you can undelete it.

If you have a sensitive file or a big file that you don’t want taking up disk space, press Shift+Delete to delete it instead. It won’t appear in the Trashcan, it’s just gone with only one confirmation dialog box to confirm.

Change your mind? You can press Ctrl+Z to Undo the delete operation, but don’t wait too long.

3 thoughts on “Shift+Delete: Delete file without sending it to Trashcan”

  1. Thanks for all the great shortcuts you’ve posted lately, estephen. These are exactly the kind I was asking for. I like all the ones you’ve been posting lately although I did know about a few of them already.

  2. I’d like to note that if you send a big file to the Recycle Bin, then it might evict existing entries in it. This can be troubling if you like to check your Recycle Bin before permanently deleting its files.

    So with the Shift+Delete method, you don’t run the risk of this happening.

  3. this is so misleading, you can’t actually undo shift+delete and what do you meant by “don’t wait too long”? doesn’t make any sense as files are are instantly deleted without any recoverable location (like moving to recycle bin) i don’t think it would work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *